Tasmanian Premier's reading challenge Go to Tas.Gov.Au

​2018 Key Dates

​Friday 23 February

School signups opens - let us know that your school wants to participate.
Closes Wednesday 14 March.
NB: Schools also need to register student names between Monday 19 March and Friday 13 April.

Date to be confirmed

​Premier's Reading Challenge launch.

Monday 19 March

Registration of student names through the new PRC Application opens.
Closes Friday 13 April.
NB: Schools need to have already signed up for the PRC before registering student names.

Student Reading Ambassadors (SRAs) can start to promote the Challenge and reading in general from now (see details in About the Challenge).

Monday 26 March

Outstanding SRA from 2017 will be announced this week.
Prize is a Family Reading Lounge Experience at UTAS Stadium of Saturday 29 April. 30 runners-up will also be able attend the AFL game with an adult.

Monday 9 April

The Challenge starts.

Tuesday 10 April

Book reviews open.

Friday 13 April

Term 1 ends.
Students continue the Challenge at home.
Book reviews can be submitted during the holidays.

Saturday 28 April @ 7.25pm

Hawthorn v St Kilda – UTAS Stadium, Launceston.

Monday 30 April

​​Term 2 starts.

​Friday 4 May

Nomination of 2018 SRAs from the North closes.

Monday 7 May

Winning SRAs from the North will be announced this week.
Prize is a Family Reading Lounge Experience at UTAS Stadium of Saturday 2 June.  30 runners-up will also be able attend the AFL game with an adult.

Friday 25 May

Nomination of 2018 SRAs from the North West closes.

Monday 28 May

Winning SRAs from the North West will be announced this week.
Prize is a Family Reading Lounge Experience at UTAS Stadium of Saturday 23 June. 30 runners-up will also be able attend the AFL game with an adult.

Saturday 2 June @ 2.10pm

Hawthorn v Port Adelaide – UTAS Stadium, Launceston.

Monday 13 June

Queen's Birthday holiday.

Friday 15 June

The Challenge ends.

Book Reviews close.

Nomination of 2018 SRAs from the South closes.

Monday 18 June

Winning SRAs from the South will be announced this week.
Prize is a Family Reading Lounge Experience at UTAS Stadium of Saturday14 July. 30 runners-up will also be able attend the AFL game with an adult.

​Friday 22 June

​Students should have returned their completed reading logs to their teachers by now.

Saturday 23 June @ 1.45pm

Hawthorn v Gold Coast Suns – UTAS Stadium, Launceston.

Monday 2 July

Final day to mark students as having completed the Challenge in the PRC Application.

Nomination of Student Champions closes (see Prizes and incentives for details).

Friday 6 July

Term 2 ends.

Saturday 14 July @ 1.45pm

Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions – UTAS Stadium, Launceston.

Wednesday 18 July

Online surveys for school coordinators and home educators open (the link to the survey will be emailed to you).
Closes Friday 1 August for home educators.
Closes Friday 8 August for school coordinators.

Monday 23 July

Term 3 starts.              

Wednesday 1 August

Premier's Reading Challenge Presentation and distribution of completion certificates and prize packs.              

Monday 29 August

Student Completion Certificates & Prize Packs and School Participation Certificates begin to arrive in schools.             

Friday 21 September

Please email us if you have not received your school's certificates and prize packs by today.

Friday 28 September

Term 3 ends.